You are here

Academy Council

Norfolk Academies holds ultimate responsibility for all decisions regarding the running of the individual academies. However, it delegates some of the decisions to Academy Councils (ACs) to enable a more focused local control, though it remains legally responsible for standards across all academies within the MAT.

Although the ACs are constituted in an advisory capacity to the Norfolk Academies Board, they play a crucial and essential role in raising attainment and achievement of each academy through:

  • monitoring the academic performance of the academy;
  • holding managers to account;
  • supporting academy students and staff.

Membership of an Academy Council consists of a Staff member, one Parent member, for each academy, if more than one in the AC (additional parent member may be appointed at the discretion of the TEN Group Board of Trustees) and Independent members appointed by the Members of Norfolk Academies (including Transforming Education in Norfolk).

The members of the Wayland Junior Watton Academy Council are:

  • Charlotte Land (Chairman)
  • Izzy Mair (Interim Academy Principal WJAW)
  • Harriet Beckett
  • Chloe Brooks (Parent Member, elected)
  • Dean Rosembert
  • Gaynor Clipsham

The Academy Council may be contacted by:

Letter – c/o TEN Group Governance Office, Thetford Building, City College Norwich,
Ipswich Road, Norwich, NR2 2LJ

Email –
Telephone - 01603 773381 (TEN Group Governance Office)

For information relating to Norfolk Academies Annual Reports and Financial Statements, Norfolk Academies Value for Money Statements, Norfolk Academies Funding Agreement and Norfolk Academies Memorandum and Articles of Association please visit the Norfolk Academies website via the link provided below:

Visit Norfolk Academies website >